International Ice Hockey Federation

85 NHL draftees in Malmö

85 NHL draftees in Malmö

Sweden leads the Euros with 17

Published 30.12.2013 17:27 GMT+1 | Author Andrew Podnieks
85 NHL draftees in Malmö
Sweden has more players already drafted into the NHL than any other European team (17). Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
This year’s U20 features some 85 players drafted into the NHL.

Of course, given that it is a North American league, Canada and the United States lead the way. All players from both teams have been drafted with the exception of underagers not yet eligible.

In Canada’s case, that means Aaron Ekblad, Sam Reinhart, and Connor McDavid are still to have their NHL futures decided while two Americans, Jack Eichel and third goalie Thatcher Demko, are in the same position.

Sweden leads the European nations by a wide margin. Some 17 players have already been drafted. Indeed, the only Swedes not drafted are third goalie Jonas Johansson, defencemen Jesper Pettersson and Lukas Bengtsson, and forwards Anton Karlsson and Lucas Wallmark.

Finland has ten draftees and Russia eight while the Czechs and Slovaks both have three. Switzerland has two and Norway has one. Germany is the only team which doesn’t have any NHL drafted players on its roster.

From the NHL perspective, Columbus, Montreal, and Nashville lead the way. These teams each have six draftees competing in Malmö. At the other end, St. Louis Blues scouts are carrying an empty clipboard as the team has nary a single prospect at this year’s U20.

Philadelphia and Washington have five and three teams have four—Chicago, Tampa Bay, and Winnipeg. Recent Stanley Cup champions are not well represented here. Boston has three future stars while Detroit and Pittsburgh have two each.

Europeans drafted in NHL competing at 2014 U20

CZE: 3
Marek Langhamer, PHX
Radek Faksa, DAL
Jan Kostalek, WPG

Continue reading

FIN: 10
Janne Juvonen, NSH
Juuse Saros, NSH
Rasmus Ristolainen, BUF
Esa Lindell DAL
Saku Mäenalanen, NSH
Ville Pokka NYI
Mikko Vainonen, NSH
Teuvo Teräväinen, CHI
Henri Ikonen, TBL
Artturi Lehkonen, MTL

GER: none

NOR: 1
Markus Søberg, CBJ

RUS: 8
Andrei Vasilevski, TBL
Valeri Vasiliev, PHI
Anton Slepyshev, EDM
Bogdan Yakimov, EDM
Nikita Zadorov, BUF
Pavel Buchnevich, NYR
Valentin Zykov LA
Mikhail Grigorenko, BUF

SVK: 3
Martin Reway, MTL
Marko Dano CBJ
Peter Cehlarik, BOS

SWE: 17
Marcus Högberg, OTT
Oscar Dansk, CBJ
Robin Norell, CHI
Christian Djoos, WSH
Linus Arneson, BOS
Gustav Olofsson, MIN
Robert Hägg, PHI
Andreas Johnson, TOR
Jacob De La Rose, MTL
Alexander Wennberg, CBJ
Sebastian Collberg, MTL
Filip Forsberg, NSH
André Burakowsky, WSH
Nick Sörensen, ANA
Erik Karlsson, CAR
Oskar Sunsqvist, PIT
Elias Lindholm, CAR

SUI: 2
Mirco Müller, SJ
Fabrice Herzog, TOR


Back to Overview