International Ice Hockey Federation

Germany names 28 players

Germany names 28 players

U20 camp opens on Tuesday

Published 17.12.2013 15:04 GMT+1 | Author Martin Merk
Germany names 28 players
German forward Leon Draisaitl, chased by Slovakia’s Denis Hudec, is among the returnees on his team. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The German Ice Hockey Association has invited 28 players to the U20 national team camp for the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö.

Head coach Ernst Höfner named three goalkeepers, 10 defencemen and 15 forwards to the camp that starts on 17th December in Füssen. The roster will be reduced to 23 players prior to the departure to Sweden on 21st December. On 23rd December Germany will play an exhibition game against Russia in Helsingborg.

“During the camp we want to consolidate and improve our system and we have to decide which players we will take to the World Junior Championship,” Höfner said. “It is important to have a good start into the tournament. Everything else we’ll have to earn game by game.”

Last year in Ufa, the German U20 national team managed to stay in the top division and avoid a straight relegation to the second tier for the first time since 1998.

One of the heroes in the deciding 4-2 victory in the relegation battle against Latvia will be back on the team. Leon Draisaitl, the son of former German Olympian Peter Draisaitl, scored two goals and had two assists in that game. He is one of three 1995-born forwards who return from last year’s team including Dominik Kahun and Frederik Tiffels. Also 1994-born goalkeeper Marvin Cüpper is back on the camp roster.

Most of the players join from German teams including five players who have played 15 or more games in the top senior league DEL this season. Six players play junior hockey in the Canadian Hockey League and five in the United States.

German U20 national team

Marvin Cüpper, Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
Patrick Klein, EV Duisburg
Kevin Reich, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT/MHL)

Continue reading

Tim Bender, London Knights (OHL)
Thomas Botzenhardt, Ravensburg Tower Stars
Janik Möser, Muskegon Lumberjacks (USHL)
Jonas Müller, Eisbären/FASS Berlin
Jonas Noske, DEG Düsseldorf
John Rogl, EV Landshut
Dorian Saeftel, Jungadler Mannheim
Eric Stephan, DEG Düsseldorf
Dominik Tiffels, Minnesota Wilderness (NAHL)
Fabio Wagner, EV Landshut

Leon Draisaitl, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
Markus Eisenschmid, Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)
Vladislav Filin, Eisbären Juniors Berlin
Kai Herpich, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT/MHL)
Dominik Kahun, Sudbury Wolves (OHL)
Maximilian Kammerer, Regina Pats (WHL)
Patrick Klöpper, Krefeld Pinguine
Lukas Laub, Odessa Jackalopes (NAHL)
Jari Neugebauer, DEG Düsseldorf
Kevin Orendorz, Krefeld Pinguine
Lennart Palausch, Aberdeen Wings (NAHL)
Marco Sedlar, Charlottetown Islanders (QMJHL)
Frederik Tiffels, Fargo Force (USHL)
Parker Tuomie, Wenatchee Wild (NAHL)
Sven Ziegler, Eisbären/FASS Berlin


Back to Overview